Welcome Books



ISBN: 978-1-59962-112-8
$45.00

Signed Editions


QTY:


Everyday Heroes



Presale: October 02, 2012
Onsale: October 23, 2012

In the tradition of American Farmer and The Last Good War, Welcome Books proudly presents Everyday Heroes: 50 Americans Changing the World One Nonprofit at a Time. This groundbreaking visual book introduces you to the stories, causes, and portraits of fifty courageous individuals who have made an astonishing difference in the lives of others. From activists who have rallied the support of hundreds of volunteers to bring such necessities as clean drinking water, economic support, and urgent medical care to developing nations, to educational leaders who are using their gifts to elevate the opportunities of the poor and disadvantaged, to crusaders of equal rights and women’s advocacy, and many more. Award-winning photographer Paul Mobley brings a grace and epic quality to his portraits of these extraordinary “ordinary” heroes. Traveling the country to capture his subjects where they live and work, Mobley has created a body of images that harnesses the spirit and energy of giving.
Portraits are accompanied by first-person narratives by Katrina Fried, which share a unique view into the journeys of these heroes and their causes. These are stories of tenacity, passion, innovation, and daring, of regular people who’ve made an exceptional impact on those in need, often at great personal or financial sacrifice. You will hear, for instance, the inspiring story of Anne Mahlum, a young woman who stepped off the corporate ladder to found Back on My Feet, a non-profit that uses the sport of running to help the homeless rehabilitate their lives; Geoffrey Canada, the founder and CEO of the Harlem Children’s Zone, who’s pioneering efforts to reform education in Harlem, NY has touched thousands of students and families; Susan Burton who after fifteen years in and out of the justice system, rehabilitated herself and started A New Way of Life Reentry Project, which provides housing and support services to formerly incarcerated women in South Central Los Angeles; and Roy Prosterman, a man who has devoted an entire lifetime to securing land rights for the poor in developing countries. A complete directory of the organizations founded by the heroes is included. Each American celebrated in these pages is making a profound contribution to bettering our world. Their stories serve as an inspiration and as a reminder of an empowering truth: every human being can and should make a difference.

KATRINA FRIED has previously written American Farmer, and as Senior Editor and Assoc. Publisher of Welcome Books has edited or produced numerous award-winning and bestselling titles including: The Oxford Project, Gay in America, The Last Good War, Slow: Life in a Tuscan Town, Cooking with Italian Grandmothers, Primal Cuts, On The Street, and Red Carpet. Creating unique visual narratives that push the boundaries and traditional limitations of illustrated books is her greatest passion. She lives and works in NYC and Northern CA.

PAUL MOBLEY's early training as a photographer began at Detroit's Center for Creative Studies, and continued in the New York studios of such leading photographers as Annie Leibovitz and David Langley, where he apprenticed for many years before embarking on his own career. His first book, American Farmer: Portraits from the Heartland, was a multiple-award-winning collection of portraits that captured the soul of our nation's farm communities. Mobley has successfully worked with a broad range of corporate, advertising, and editorial clients, including American Express, Sony, Citigroup, Ford, Compaq, Gourmet, Max Factor, Microsoft, and many others.