EVERYDAY HEROES: 50 AMERICANS CHANGING THE WORLD ONE NONPROFIT AT A TIME
Photographs by Paul Mobley
Text by Katrina Fried
Foreword by Arianna Huffington
Designed by Gregory Wakabayashi
Published by Welcome Books
224 pages, 10" x 11"
Includes 72 full-color photographs
Hardcover, $45.00 ($45.00 CAN)
ISBN 978-1-59962-112-8
On Sale: October 2012
PHOTOGRAPHY / SOCIAL SCIENCE / PHILANTHROPY


Share |



Welcome Books:
In the tradition of American Farmer and The Last Good War, Welcome Books proudly presents Everyday Heroes: 50 Americans Changing the World One Nonprofit at a Time. This groundbreaking visual book introduces you to the stories, causes, and portraits of fifty courageous individuals who have made an astonishing difference in the lives of others. From activists who have rallied the support of hundreds of volunteers to bring such necessities as clean drinking water, economic support, and urgent medical care to developing nations, to educational leaders who are using their gifts to elevate the opportunities of the poor and disadvantaged, to crusaders of equal rights and women's advocacy, and many more. Award-winning photographer, Paul Mobley, brings a grace and epic quality to each of the extraordinary "ordinary" heroes' portraits. Traveling the country to capture his subjects where they live and work, Mobley has created a body of images that harnesses the spirit and energy of giving.

Portraits are accompanied by first-person narratives by Katrina Fried, which share a unique view into the journeys of these heroes and their causes. These are stories of tenacity, passion, innovation, and daring of regular people who've made an exceptional impact on those in need, often at great personal or financial sacrifice. You will hear, for instance, the inspiring story of Anne Mahlum, a young woman who stepped off the corporate ladder to found Back on My Feet, a nonprofit that uses the sport of running to help the homeless rehabilitate their lives; Geoffrey Canada, the founder and CEO of the Harlem Children's Zone, whose pioneering efforts to reform education in Harlem, NY have touched thousands of students and families; Susan Burton who after fifteen years in and out of the justice system, rehabilitated herself and started A New Way of Life Reentry Project, which provides housing and support services to formerly incarcerated women in South Central Los Angeles; and Roy Prosterman, a man who has devoted an entire lifetime to securing land rights for the poor in developing countries. A complete directory of the organizations founded by the heroes is included.

Each American celebrated in these pages is making a profound contribution to bettering our world. Their stories serve as inspiration and as a reminder of an empowering truth: every human being can and should make a difference.

UPDATES & CORRECTIONS